Monthly Book Chat: August

Today I’m linking up with these ladies for:bookbuttonlinkup_zps01365b43Tuesday+Talk+Button

WhatRemainsBookCover

I don’t think that I’ve ever cried reading a book but this was the one that did it. It is a heartbreaking story about love, loss and friendship and I really recommend it.

3

This is by far one of my favorite books in the history of ever 🙂 haha I adore Mindy Kaling and her humor and her show. I just mentioned her last Friday. Her book was so relate-able and honest.I need to reread this before her next book comes out. I’m so excited for September and her new season on Hulu.

51gy7i5fscl-_sy344_bo1204203200_This is my favorite book that I’ve read this year for sure. It really opened my eyes to meeting people in new and different ways. And how finding new friends can be just like dating, hah! (I hope she had as much fun as I did. Should I call her or wait for her to call me?)

It can be hard making friends as a adult when you’re not in school, you really have to make an effort. I will be moving in the fall and will have to be proactive in this department but luckily we already have some friends up there so that will be a great starting point.

1398805716000-JFK-Jr-GEORGE-ME-coverI’ve read a lot of books on the Kennedys and this one was so good. The author Matt worked at JFK’s magazine George and they became good friends and it was so interesting to hear his perspective on their relationship both at work and personally.

9780061875038This book was so inspirational. The author took a year of her life and conquered so many of her fears.  It was really eye opening to see her being fearless and really growing as a person. I really enjoyed it and it’s an awesome read.

Can’t wait to see what books you are all reading!

26 thoughts on “Monthly Book Chat: August

  1. i read my year with Eleanor not long ago and found it very cute and inspiring as well. do you have a goodreads account? i just read a book called The Kindness Diaries that i think you would enjoy. it’s about travel and happiness and caring for others. very inspirational and fed my travel nerd needs as well.

    1. I love my year w Eleanor, made me want to conquer all my fears that we build up in our heads!

      Yes my goodread account is goodreads.com/sayyestohappy I’m a little behind in updating it but I have a bunch of books there. What is your account name?

      Ahh, that book sounds right up my alley. I’ll see if it’s at my library, thanks for the rec Carrie!!

    1. It’s so fun to hear you liked those books too! Those were 2 of my favorites that I’ve read in a long time.

      I think you’ll like What Remains too, let me know!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Lauren!

  2. With what everyone says about Mindy Kaling, I really need to watch her show. I thought she was ok in the office, but I’ve laughed more at her roles in other things. MFW Seeking BFF sounds interesting! That is a topic that currently hits close to home, as a lot of my high school friends and I are finally growing apart and I haven’t really made any friends to fill the gap.

    1. She wasn’t on the Office that much (she was a writer too for that show!) But her show is amazing. She is hilarious, I think you’ll like it!

      MWF was such a good read, and something I feel like a lot of women can relate to just wanted to connect and have adult friends that might not be from your past school experiences. I highly recommend it Jenn!

  3. I want to reread Mindy’s book! I know I loved it, but I don’t really remember it. I love her! I can’t wait for her new book coming out this fall! I haven’t read any of the others, but they sound good, so they’ll probably be tacked to the end of my never-ending to-read list! Ha!

  4. I’m adding that first memoir to my list. I’m not usually a memoir person but her story sounds interesting. I also LOVED Mindy’s book. I want to be her best friend ;).

  5. I bought MWF seeking BFF years ago and haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. i think I might have to pick it up sooner rather than later!

    I love Mindy Kaling but I wasn’t a huge fan of her book, I felt like she glazed over how she got where she was. It was almost like she just wrote one thing and suddenly she was famous, which I’m sure she had to work harder than that to get where she is now.

  6. I’ve had MWF Seeking BFF on my list forever! I need to move it up the list! I also keep meaning to read What Remains. I love everything about Mindy! I can’t wait to read her new book this fall!

  7. Pingback: Mid Month Confessions | Say Yes to Happy

Leave a comment