Is Everybody Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

3

“Mindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?”

In Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Mindy invites readers on a tour of her life and her unscientific observations on romance, friendship, and Hollywood, with several conveniently placed stopping points for you to run errands and make phone calls. Mindy Kaling really is just a Girl Next Door—not so much literally anywhere in the continental United States, but definitely if you live in India or Sri Lanka.”

love Mindy Kaling. She is just hilarious and so witty. Her show, the Mindy Project is laugh out loud funny. I mentioned her show last fall as one to look out for. If you’re not watching it now, you should! It is my favorite show that is on right now.

I had to read her book because I knew it would be funny. She does not disappoint. I giggled a few times while reading. I devoured her book and finished it in hours. It was fun to be along for her ride to fame and hear about her trials and tribulations along the way.

She is a graduate of Dartmouth and had immigrant professional parents growing up. She had some fun stories of her childhood and how she has dealt with being a little chubby most of her life.  She talked about how she moved to New York after graduating and had a harder time than she thought in finding a job. She is so relatable and honest.

Reading her book feels like you’re talking to a friend. (I wish she was my friend!) I hope she writes more books, she is so awesome!  It’s a quick and fun read. The chapters are short and talk about a range of subjects like marriage, fame, and friendships. I would highly recommend this book.

Here are some funny quotes from her book to get you hooked 🙂

“If I’m at a party where I’m not enjoying myself, I will put some cookies in my jacket pocket and leave without saying good-bye.”

“People ask me all the time how I got hired onto the Office. Another common question is how do I manage to stay so down-to-earth in the face of such incredible success? … A third frequently asked question is: “Girl, where you from? Trinidad? Guyana? Dominican Republic? You married? You got kids?” This is mostly asked by guys on the sidewalk selling I LOVE NEW YORK paraphernalia in New York City.”

“My mom’s a doctor, but because she came from India and then Africa, where childhood obesity was not a problem, she put no premium on having skinny kids. In fact, she and my dad didn’t mind having a chubby daughter. Part of me wonders if it even made them feel a little prosperous, like Have you seen our overweight Indian child? Do you know how statistically rare this is?

“I’m the one who looks at the infant, smiles nervously, and as my contribution to small talk, robotically announces to the parent, “Your child looks healthy and well cared for.”

Next week I will go over reality star Melissa Rycroft’s book appropriately titled, “My Reality.”

10 thoughts on “Is Everybody Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

  1. Pingback: My Summer Reading List | sayyestohappy

  2. Pingback: Changes They Are A Coming | sayyestohappy

  3. Pingback: 2014 SAG Awards Best Dressed List | sayyestohappy

  4. Pingback: Mindy Kaling | sayyestohappy

  5. Pingback: Friday Favorites : The Mindy Project! | sayyestohappy

  6. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Bachelorette + Books, Oh My! | sayyestohappy

  7. Pingback: MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche | sayyestohappy

  8. Pingback: Friday Favorites! | Say Yes to Happy

  9. Pingback: I Met Mindy Kaling! | Say Yes to Happy

  10. Pingback: Four Facts Survey – Say Yes to Happy

Leave a Reply

