Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

So last Wednesday, my blogging pal, Mattie at Northwest Native so kindly nominated me for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award! It’s always so flattering to be thought of when there are SO many bloggers out there.

Then on Monday of this week, another one of my blogger friends, Molly at Colors of Life, nominated me as well!

sisterhood1Here are the rules:

  • Provide a link and thank the blogger who nominated you for this award.
  • Answer a few questions about yourself either the same ones or other ones.
  • Nominate 5-10 blogs that you love.
  • Include the award logo with your blog post.

Here are my girls that I’m nominating:

Thank you both so much! And now days later, I’m finally getting around to answering these questions:

Why did you start blogging?

Vi and I have been friends for years. (You can read about our story here.) At the time we started our blog we were both living in Chicago and since then we’ve lived in DC, Arizona, California, Indiana, and next I’ll be moving to Seattle. So we thought it’d be a fun way to keep in touch and share what was going on in our lives with all of our readers. Plus it’s a fun way to look back at our memories.

V__68B1

How do you think blogging has changed your life?

Blogging has been a fun way to connect with people all over the US, and the world really. It’s like the adult version of having pen pals in a way. I’ve discovered places I want to go to through reading other blogs.

It also makes me slow down and appreciate moments more in my everyday life. I have kept journals for years but it’s fun to have an online journal and share certain experiences with other people too.

Has blogging created friendships for you?

Blogging has been a fun way to get a peek into people’s lives. You read people’s blog regularly and you start to feel like you know them. I’ve emailed back and forth with a bunch of bloggers and everyone has been so nice and supportive. It’s a fun community to be a part of.

What is your number one tip for blogging?

I have so many tips, I can’t just choose one!

Be an active member in the blogging community, link up with others, leave genuine comments, and blog about what you know and love. It shows when you are being your true self vs. just trying to sell or promote something. Sure, most people would love to make money off blogging, but that takes time. You should do it because you love it. Everything else is just icing on the cake.

What is your favorite kind of blog post to write and read?

I love reading about people’s weddings and all the details involved. I am one of those girls who loves weddings and has been thinking about my own for years!

I also love to read about people’s travels and adventures. It is so fun to live vicariously through other people’s exciting adventures. I’m dying to get to Europe one of these days but in the meantime I’ll have to settle for follow other people’s travels.

I love writing about my travels, road trips, the books I’m reading, and people I’m interviewing.

j

Is it hard to keep up with blogging and your regular every day life?

Yes it can be. When I’m out and about I always take pictures and make mental notes about wanting to blog about this or that. Then a few days go by and then months and I still haven’t blogged about something I meant to. I have so many more trips that I still have to share and haven’t gotten around to. Same goes for interviews. I have a few waiting to be written and shared. Stay tuned πŸ™‚

Have you met any bloggers you met through here?

So far I’ve met Shay from Mix and Match Mama and Shaeffer at the Men Tell All taping. I’m planning to meet up with some PNW bloggers once I move this fall! (Hi Mattie, Jules, and Mil!)

vZi3OCE-UWI2hfbdbBCacdpxxwUPg22prMhvOscQ4sM=w657-h875-noHow much time do you spend blogging?

Hmm good question! I usually sneak a few minutes here and there at work especially when I eat at my desk. But I spent a lot of time reading other blogs and commenting. And I try to blog a few days in advance when I can. I’d say 1 to 2 hours a day depending on the day, but sometimes longer and sometimes shorter.

What is your most popular blog post?

These two posts I linked from Pinterest get the most traffic:

Smoothie Recipes for Everything and Jamba Juice Recipes.

23573598020788213_w6bdtemw_c

What is your favorite post on your blog?

I can’t pick just one. I love talking about my travels as I stated earlier. So probably some of those are my faves:

Jumping for Joy

The Narrows Hike in Zion

Maroon Bells, Colorado

And I still can’t believe I got to go to the Men Tell All taping last month, that was pretty surreal and awesome.

maroonbells1

Thanks so much again for nominating me Mattie and Molly! You girls are the best πŸ™‚ Hope you all had fun reading this as much as I had participating in it. (Probably not but that’s ok! Hah) Happy Hump Day!

Linking up today with:

waiting+on+Wednesday+link+up+button+5-26+versionhap-pinning

 

32 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Amelia Vesper

    Thanks for the nom, my dear! Can’t wait to meet up when you come to Seattle πŸ™‚ And I am totally the same way about weddings. I love hearing all the details, even if it’s someone I don’t know! Ha!

  2. My Urban Family

    “It’s like the adult version of having pen pals in a way” <– This is so true! I'm just starting to experience it, but it is wonderful so far. I work from home, so having this extra outlet to connect with people is so nice!

    1. I am so glad you left a message, excited to follow your chicago blog! I’m originally from Chicago, though I now live on the West Coast. But Chicago will always have my heart πŸ™‚

      We can be pen pals now too! haha

  3. Pingback: Travel Thursday – A Week Out West Part 1 | Say Yes to Happy

  4. Loved learning more about you πŸ™‚

    How do you guys keep up the blogging? Does vi write a post and than you alternate? I feel like I’ve read more of your posts though. I love your tip, most definitely, blog because you love it.

    I spend too much time blogging, it’s embarrassing.

    And I nominated you for the liebster award you can see it here

    liz jo @ sundays with sophie

    1. Sorry I don’t know how I’m just seeing this now Liz!

      Vi and I started the blog together years ago and we’ve taken turns writing when one of us is busy. Right now Vi is busy with her new job and is taking a break so I’ve been taking over lately.

      I have definitely been spending a lot of more time blogging these days and I get to virtually meet wonderful people like you πŸ™‚

      Thanks so much for nominating me, I will do my interview asap! Hope you’re having a great week!

  5. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | Say Yes to Happy

Leave a Reply

