Blogger Recognition Award

Last Friday Steph over at Scale Simple was kind enough to nominate me for the Blogger Recognition Award. Thanks so much for thinking of me and for the awesome comments you leave me!

bloggerrecognitionaward

So what are the rules?

  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Write a post to show your award
  • Attach the award to the post
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them & Provide a link to the award post you created (You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you)

How Our Blog Started

So I mentioned in a previous blogging award how Vi and I started our blog. But for those of you who may be new to the blog I’ll give you a refresher. Vi and I have been friends since we were 11 years old and were pen pals the old fashion way with letters. We were family friends and kept in touch when I lived in Illinois and she lived in Indiana.

We have since lived in different states but our friendship is the glue that holds us together. We grew up together and shared a lot of experiences and memories and when we were both living in Chicago 3 years ago, we decided to start a blog together. It’s been a fun way for us to stay in touch and document some of the fun things we’ve been up to since we are so far away (she’s in Chicago and I’m in Southern California.)  And honestly it’s been over 3 years and I barely remember how we got our name hah!

Advice to New Bloggers

I love hearing other blogger’s advice and I’ll try to give some good advice myself.

vibe

Linking up is one of the best things you can do for your blog in my opinion. It’s a great way to connect with other bloggers and find new ones that you wouldn’t otherwise find. There are a lot of blogs out there and it’s easy to get lost in the shuffle. Building a community and finding your tribe makes blogging so much more fun and inclusive.

I would also say to resist the temptation to compare your blog to other people’s blogs. It’s so easy to do in this day and age with social media and everyone putting their best foot forward, but just remember that we all have to start somewhere. Even your favorite bloggers had to slowly build their blogs from the ground up. Just do what you love, be patient, engage in the blogging world with comments, and figure out the rest along the way. 😉

compare

Here are some members of my blogging tribe that I’m nominating 🙂

Mattie @ Northwest Native            Lindsay @ Seven Layer Chocolate 

Lauren @ Post Grad in Progress   Sophia @ xoxo Sophia Blog

Rachel @ Floral and Fudge            Kelley @ Madeline in the City

Molly @ Colors of Life Blog            Kylie @ Kylie McGraw

Katelyn @ Simply Sunflour            Megan @ Twenty Ounces

Ashleigt @ Hill Collection               Jamie @ I Don’t Eat That

Alexandra @ My Urban Family     Liz Jo @ Sundays with Sophie 

Emily @ Lynde Avenue 

14 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. I love the way your blog started 🙂 do you blog more often or does she? I feel like I read more posts by you though… It is such a great way to keep in contact too especially since you don’t live in the same time zone. My friend and I have time coordinating times since she’s 2 hours a head of me.

    Thanks for the nomination too 🙂

    liz jo @ sundays with sophie

    1. Thanks Liz 🙂 we take turns blogging when our lives get busier. Right now I’ve been doing most of the blogging but she’s planning a few blog posts soon!

      Long distance friendships can be tough but with technology today it makes it so much easier!

  2. The comparison thing is the hardest thing for me to master! I always tell myself how silly I’m being, but still, I have my moments where it slips into my mind.

    Thanks for the nomination!!

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination! You made my day 😀

    And like everyone else, I think the way your blog started is so sweet! Technology to keep relationships going is such a blessing. My brother lives in Japan. I would die if we didn’t have technology to keep in touch!

  4. Seriously comparison steals all our joy….it is so hard so hard to figure out the right balance!! You as always are the absolute sweetest! Thanks for the nomination my love! Can’t wait to get back to posting xoxo

  5. Pingback: You nominate? I accept! | Colors of Life

Leave a comment