Seattle Trip Part 2- Rattlesnake Ledge Hike!

After we found a rental, it was such a weight off our shoulders. I was pretty stressed out seeing all the houses. This will be our first time buying a house and it’s pretty crazy to think about the maintenance that is required and how much some places need fixing it. It can be pretty intimidating.

We were on our way to Fox Island to visit our friends and came across this nice park (whose name I did not catch) and got an awesome view of the city. Sometimes this skyline reminds me of the Chicago skyline.

IMG_1624

We love Starbucks as much as everyone else does, but we also like to support local coffee shops. We went to this one a bunch of times.

IMG_1683

I also posted a picture of her yesterday but I mean come on! She is so stinkin’ precious I can’t take it. Her onesie, her crocs, her hoodie with the ears. She is perfection I’m telling you! IMG_1631

IMG_1751

Our friends have a gorgeous rental and they have stunning views and sunlight.

IMG_1646

The next day we drove into town to sign our lease agreement and drove past the Seattle Library downtown. You all know how much I love to read and I can’t wait to get inside this beautiful library. We have a few architecture friends and they all rave about this library, it’s pretty easy to see why!

IMG_1648

IMG_1652

Afterwards Dave surprised me and took me to Gas Works Park in Ballard which was really pretty and peaceful. And it was beautiful and sunny out. Who says Seattle is always grey and rainy? IMG_1660

IMG_1755

IMG_1760

IMG_1662

IMG_1672

 

For dinner that night we met our friends Denny and Sarah in Ballard and ate at a restaurant called Roux. It was really good.

IMG_1676

On our final day in town, after seeing our friends and house hunting we wanted to get in a hike before we took off for the airport.

So I’m going to be honest. I heard about this hike from Des and Chris from the Bachelorette. She posted pictures of their engagement photos and I knew instantly that I wanted to go here someday. I mentioned it to Dave and he had actually done it by himself one of the times he had a layover in Seattle, so it was really fun for us to do it together this time! It’s called Rattlesnake Ledge.

Chris-Desiree-8-of-119

IMG_1688

It’s a quick 2 mile trek to the top with this view.

trail marker

Seattle has a bad reputation for always being rainy and grey but I think the positive to that is the state is so green and lush!

trees

view

ledge

Gotta add this one to our feet picture collection.

feet

We talked to a nice guy up there who was from Michigan (I’m telling you people from the Midwest are so friendly!) and he took this picture for us.

Going on this hike made me very excited that we are moving up there at the end of this month. It’s really cool to see pictures of a place and then to actually be there is awesome. This hike is easy yet the views are so rewarding and breathtaking. I can’t recommend this hike enough. Dave and I said we already know that we are going to take all our visitors here. So get ready to see lots more pictures of us up there! 🙂

Growing up in the Midwest in Chicago where it’s super flat and full of tall buildings and absolutely no mountains, it’s really surreal and humbling to be surrounded by beautiful, majestic places like Rattlesnake Ledge.

us

trees2

One of the things we are most excited about in moving to Seattle is the outdoor lifestyle. We plan to be outside camping and hiking most weekends and couldn’t be more pumped about it! One of our favorites quotes is:

8bde23e3ddf78f832bb0fe89cff00c4c

 

On that note, I wanted to let you all know that I will be heading out of town tomorrow once again, for our friend Kate and Hayes’ wedding in beautiful North Carolina. It our first time there and we are super excited to see what everyone is always raving about!

I want to thank all my blogging friends in advance for taking over for me and guest posting here. Shout out to Emily @ Comfortably Classic, Megan @ Twenty Ounces, Kelley @ Madeline I, Katelyn @ Simply Sunflour, and Ailee @ Snapshots and My Thoughts! Thanks girls, you’re the best!

Hope you all have a great rest of the week. If you want to follow along our trip I’ll be posting occasionally on Instagram.

19 thoughts on “Seattle Trip Part 2- Rattlesnake Ledge Hike!

  1. My Urban Family

    That is a really nice skyline! I’ve never been to Seattle but my husband wants to go really badly so I’m guessing it’ll be sooner rather than later that we make our way over there. I’ve heard it has a “smaller Chicago” feel – do you agree?

  2. Commenting from my phone so sorry it is so weird today lol I must do that rattlesnake ledge hike. I always see pics of it and it looks amazing. Are you going to make a photo book or collage of the feet pictures?? So cute! Xoxo

    1. It’s so surreal and exciting to have you comment on my blog Des! I love your blog.

      I plan to go back to rattlesnake all the time and am so excited to do other hikes in and around Seattle too!

  3. Y’all always have the most creative pictures from when you’re out of town. I love that rental. I’d want to put on my comfies, grab a cup of coffee, and stare out the window at the sunrise or something. So peaceful 🙂

  4. Amelia Vesper

    Great pics! Rattlesnake is so popular it’s hard to get photos without other people in them. If you like hiking you’re going to love it here! (I am not outdoorsy AT ALL but I feel like all my friends are obsessed with hiking…) 🙂

  5. Megan

    Beautiful pictures of your hike! I can see how you would want to spend weekends up there! I love visiting my friends in Denver because it’s so nice to get away from the blah of the Midwest, haha. Have a great trip!

  6. Pingback: I’m Baaack! (Well Sort of) | Say Yes to Happy

  7. Pingback: Happy (Early) Thanksgiving Friends! | Say Yes to Happy

  8. Pingback: Four Facts Survey – Say Yes to Happy

  9. Pingback: Weekend Recap – Say Yes to Happy

  10. Pingback: Another Weekend Recap – Say Yes to Happy

Leave a Reply

