Tell Us About It: Favorite Thing about Your State!

Today Mattie and I are hosting our second link up! We’re talking about our favorite things about our state. So please feel free to join us today or for our other link up dates. Here is the schedule of our upcoming topics:sept 1 fave

Linking Up2

So this one is a little tough for me. Because home for me means Chicago. But I don’t live there anymore. I’ve lived in California for the last 2 years. And yes I’m moving to Seattle next month but I’ll wait until I move there to call it ‘my state.’ Chicago and Southern California offer totally different things so I thought I’d pick a few of my favorites from both places.

Chicago

Millenium Park is a gorgeous city park that I highly recommend anyone who visits Chicago to go see. There is also a great outdoor amphitheater that has great musical events. This park is beautiful during the day and at night. It’s also a great view of the city.

millenium-park_C_0The architecture in that city is so awesome. I went on an architecture tour in July and had a blast. It’s fun to hear the history behind the city. And Lake Michigan makes the skyline so much more picturesque.

chi4

Having lived on both the East and West Coast, I can say for sure that people from the Midwest are so nice, polite and welcoming. Not to say that people from either coast aren’t friendly. But people from Chicago are overly friendly and treat you like family. Having traveled a lot Dave and I have been told multiple times how polite we are, and how much we use (and maybe overuse) please and thank you. πŸ™‚ I’d also say that people from the Midwest are very down to earth and easy to talk to.

IMG_20150506_133424

California

Point DumeΒ in Malibu is one of my favorite places in all of Southern California. When Dave and I lived in Santa Monica we used to take all of our visitors to this spot. It’s a quick hike and has such beautiful views of the ocean and the beach. We also almost always saw dolphins, whales, or seals here.

img_0424

Yosemite National Park is a true California gem. There’s a reason Ansel Adams spent so much time there taking epic photographs. I can’t recommend visiting Yosemite enough. The hikes and views are really beautiful. I don’t know if I’m brave enough to hike Half Dome, maybe someday, but I’m not the biggest fan of heights so that might be a tough one. But I’ve been to Yosemite a few times since moving to California and I’ve loved it each time. ( I need to blog about it still!)Β IMG_8738

I love that California offers so much hiking. We’ve hiked in Sequoia National Park, Malibu, Laguna Beach, Yosemite, and a few others. I love that you can just drive to the mountains in no time.

10991290_10101779710537939_4688911173237310501_n

Please join in our link up by pressing the button. And you can add your link until the 7th if you aren’t ready today. Excited to read your posts and find some new blogs hopefully!

14 thoughts on “Tell Us About It: Favorite Thing about Your State!

  1. My days are messed up and I was thinking this was on Friday not Thursday! I definitely want to participate so thanks for keeping the link up open for a few days! I’ve never been to either town so I loved learning about both! Chicago is definitely on my must visit list!
    Linds @ Not A Mom

    1. Megan

      I did the same thing at first! I had it written down for tomorrow on the calendar until I looked again! Don’t feel bad, haha πŸ™‚

  2. My Urban Family

    First off, I love your link-up. The perfect amount of time between each post! πŸ™‚ Also, I totally agree that the Midwest is extra nice and polite.I tend to forget until we travel elsewhere and then I always make a comment about how nice people are back home compared ha

  3. Your pictures are all so gorgeous! I want to visit every big city in the country (and some smaller ones too) so Chicago is a must-visit for me some day! Cheers to another successful link-up! πŸ™‚

  4. Amelia Vesper

    I have a special place in my heart for both of these places…my dad’s family is from LA, but I was born in Chicago and went there for college. I love them both too!

  5. I’ve heard people say that Pittsburghers are like midwesterners in that we are friendly and treat everyone like family! I would like to think that is true πŸ™‚ One of my friends in DC is from St. Louis (so the true midwest) and she always notices how much less friendly people are around here haha! I go to so many running clubs but I wish there were hiking clubs so I could make friends who like to do that! Your pictures make me so jealous!

  6. Megan

    I have been saying we need to go to Chicago for the past few years now. And we still haven’t made it, haha. It’s not that far of a drive! I definitely want to see Lake Michigan & explore the city. I need to visit California too, your pictures look beautiful!

  7. Pingback: Seattle Trip Part 2- Rattlesnake Ledge Hike! | Say Yes to Happy

Leave a Reply

