5 Books That Impacted My Life

Happy Monday blogging friends! Hope you all had nice weekends. I did a lot of catching up with errands and celebrated a friend’s birthday at the Huntington dog beach and a maze room (which was really fun!)

I’m picking and choosing blog prompts from the Blog-tember Challenge with Brave Love Blog and today’s topic is:

 The 5 books that have impacted your life the most.

blogtemberbutton

I am a total book nerd and love curling up with a good book, so this blog prompt is so perfect! I like that it’s about the 5 books that impacted your life and not just book recommendations (even though I love those too!) But it’s fun to have a spin on it. I think it’s so cool that authors have the power to impact people’s lives with their words, such a powerful thing.

unnamed

  1. I don’t know how many times I’ve talked about Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I read it a few months ago and fell in love with her story. She is such a great writer and I loved getting to hear her thoughts while she hiked 1,000 miles on the Pacific Crest Trail. Talk about women empowerment and getting things done! It’s also super inspiring that she wasn’t an expert hiker and makes me feel like I could strap on some hiking boots and hit the trail just like she did. 😉jfk jr
  2. JFK Jr, George, and Me by Matt BermanI am a big fan of the Kennedys. I’ve read a lot of books about them and seen a lot of documentaries. As many amazing accomplishment as they have, they also have endured a lot of tragedies. The fate of JFK Jr breaks my heart. This book reminded me how precious life and friendship is. You never know when your last adventure is going to be and you have to appreciate every moment. This paragraph made me so sad:

    How could thing turn so quickly? In one minute, John was nothing. Just as nothing had turned into everything when I met him, everything turned into nothing when he died So many things turned out to be the opposite of what they initially seemed. The first cover of Georgewas actually a woman; the Prince and the Vampire (me) were very much alike; John’s icy wife turned out to be warm and funny. The job I wasn’t sure I could handled helped me come into my own. When their plane crashed into the sea, pure water turned into a brick wall.”
    mwf

  3. MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche. Making friends as an adult can be hard. Life can take you in different directions and you find that no longer surrounded by your friends you grew up, your sorority sisters, etc. So you have to really put yourself out there and make new friends.  This book really opened my eyes that there are so many different avenues to find adult friends and that a lot of people want to make friends too! eleanor
  4. My Year with Eleanor by Noelle Hancock was a fantastic read. Noelle took a year off and focused on things that scared her and conquered her fears one by one. She did lots of epic things, including climbing Mount Kilimanjaro! It shows that we build up things in our head and that things aren’t always as bad as think they will be. “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” Right? 🙂
  5. 201001-omag-book-rubin-220x312

    The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. Gretchen took all her goals and broke them down by months to make them more manageable. Because we all know how new year’s resolutions go. We start out the year optimistic and motivated and by the end of the month we are already back to our old habits. This book taught me that focusing on just a few things at a time is much more realistic and you’re more likely to be successful at accomplishing your goals that way.

    I can’t wait to browse through the link up and see which life changing books I should be reading next! See you guys here tomorrow.

 

26 thoughts on “5 Books That Impacted My Life

  1. My Urban Family

    Thanks for the list! I’ve never read any of those, but my to-read list is so long I might as well add some more, right? 🙂

  2. I LOVED Wild! So many people just didn’t like her and her decisions. My mom was so mad that she couldn’t even watch the movie (she thought she was being stupid going off on her own). I love that she owned up to her past mistakes. Yes, she made some BIG ones, but who doesn’t make mistakes?! Sheesh. I need to read the others! Michael and I bought The Happiness Project for his mom and she loved it!

    1. Isn’t making mistakes what your 20s are about? 🙂 no reward without a risk! Yes she did some crazy things but it lead her to such an amazing place in her life and what an accomplishment! One that not many people can say they did!

  3. Megan

    I’ve never read any of these but you recommended the MWF Seeking BFF to me which I really need to find! The Happiness Project sounds good too so I’ll have to try to find that one!

Leave a Reply

