Super Saturday : 5K, Beach Workouts, & Cupcakes

So I’m a little late in doing a weekend wrap up, but better late than never, right? πŸ™‚

So on Friday I told you guys about my weekend plans. I did a 5k in the morning and two beach workouts with Shape magazine.

My friend Erin had a new year’s resolution to do one 5k a month. So for the last two months I’ve been joining her. Last month we did one in Santa Monica on the beach path, and this month we did one on the beach, in the sand, in Manhattan Beach.

IMG_0047The morning started out a little chilly but by the end it was hot, so I took off my jacket that had my running number.

Fun fact: at the very end of the race, I decided to sprint in and pass anyone in my path. There happened to be a little girl probably 10 years old or so, and I sprinted to catch up to her. Her mom said, “She’s gaining on you!” Haha I showed no mercy and ran in right before her. It was pretty funny. It made me push myself and was just for fun. Don’t worry no one went home in tears or anything.

YwCf3zhLk7z5TxgTEio0nofQCJG-KPFE7cLksaaF_uI=w953-h714-noLast month it was just Erin and I, and this month Richard, Erin’s boyfriend decided last minute to join us. πŸ™‚ Selfies on the beach.

u_3olxjtESGIHvZRf8G6MfmUhmiKMFuH39d4M-al5uw=w681-h907-noAfter our 5k, we walked down the street to Noah’s Bagels which is pretty comparable to Einstein’s Bagels. It was really good. Erin and I always look forward to breakfast after our 5ks. Last month after our Santa Monica 5k, we ate at our favorite waffle place, Bru’s Wiffle, which I’ve mentioned before. If you ever find yourself in Santa Monica, definitely go there!

I don’t remember how I heard out about this beach workout but I signed up weeks ago. They were offering beach work out classes in Hermosa Beach, with well known trainers. Shaun T from Insanity, Tony Horton from P90x, Autumn Calabrese, and Katrina and Karena from Tone It Up.

IMG_0065I wanted to take the Tone It Up classes but they sold out. Those girls are popular! They’ve started a whole movement and have a lot of fans. I was able to get into two classes at noon and 1pm with Autumn and Tony. Their classes were really fun and energetic.

IMG_0068He is the creator of P90X and is 57 years old. He kept saying aging is for idiots. Hilarious and so true. What an inspiration though! I hope I’m still fit at that age.

IMG_0084 The Tone it Up girls did a meet and greet but this was the best I got because I had to rush to my next class. They’re gorgeous and super friendly though. Happy for all their success.IMG_0081Shape Magazine put on a great event. The classes were $5 each (so cheap!) and they gave away great good bags full of protein powder, their magazine, dvd workouts, Sun Chips, and Neutrogena sunscreen spray. I had a blast, got some vitamin D, and some fun goodies. Total success!IMG_0090

Part of why I like to work out is because I like to sometimes reward myself afterwards. Which leads me to this picture…as I was walking back to the car I came across the adorable cupcake shop called Frosted Cupcakery.

IMG_0088

The girl working there suggested their strawberry cream cheese cupcake and it did not disappoint. It was delicious.Β A two hour workout deserves a little cupcake right? πŸ˜‰ IMG_0086

IMG_0089I had to stop myself from getting another one, it was that good. Highly recommend if you’re ever around one.

IMG_0087After I got home, I took a shower than a nice 2 hour nap. The sun and working out wore me out.

My friend came over that night with her daughter, and we had a girl’s night and watched the new Pixar movie, Inside Out, which was adorable. And speaking of adorable, look at that face! I adore that sweet little girl and her mama.

anbRnTg062TdyLxyIluGciXp6c47TRs6MYhCFzIo7Bs=w638-h851-no

IMG_0096

All in all it was a very productive and great day.

17 thoughts on “Super Saturday : 5K, Beach Workouts, & Cupcakes

  1. A workout following by a cupcake — you’re a girl after my own heart! πŸ˜‰ Btw, that cupcake looks almost too cute to eat! Glad you enjoyed …guilt free too after burning all those calories – woohoo! πŸ™‚ Happy to hear that you enjoyed Inside Out! I’m looking forward to taking my girlies to see it! Have a beautiful second half to your week! xo – Brenda // Chatting Over Chocolate

    1. Haha thanks Brenda! Gotta have a little reward after working so hard right? πŸ™‚

      Yes Inside Out was so fun, you and your girls will love it! There is a lot of talking, but it’s fun and colorful!

      Your messages are always so encouraging and sweet, thanks Brenda!!

  2. I love the reward after a workout! I think carbs are a must after a 5K. Bagels or waffles are perfect! I’ve only done one 5K but we went to brunch after and I got some french toast! Inside Out looks so cute! I’m also excited to see the Minion movie. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Books, Beach & Bloggers | sayyestohappy

  4. Pingback: Weekend Recap | sayyestohappy

  5. Pingback: Friday Faves: Jumping, July 4th & Men Tell All! | sayyestohappy

  6. Pingback: 10 on 10 August 2015 | Say Yes to Happy

  7. Pingback: Mid Month Confessions | Say Yes to Happy

Leave a Reply

