Friday Favorites: NYC, Me Time, Blackhawks

Happy Friday friends! I’m linking up with the ladies at A Little Bit of Everything BlogGrace and Love Blog, and Momfessionals as usual! 🙂 Head on over to all their sites if you wanna join in the link ups!

FridayFavorites3_zpsea6fc451

I’m also linking up with other blogging women at A.Liz AdventuresCarolina CharmHello! Happiness, and The Good Life Blog.p-txt

 And last but not least The Farmer’s Wife and September Farm.

valentineohheyfriday_zps0d5af582

 

the-new-youThis week I blogged about our short but amazing trip to NYC (Part 1 and Part 2.) It’s a fantastic city that I know love and appreciate ( I was initially overwhelmed my first trip there at the magnitude and scale of the city. But I have since fallen in love with it. Not hard to do in the spring time when the cherry blossoms are out in full bloom!)

sR5M3pwj02EFCYcHfgKrXqkIRVcRIFXYyy1g6l_oukk=w499-h882-no

the-new-you1This week has been especially busy for me. I work part time, I nanny part time, I have a cat, I’ve been working out, etc etc. We all have obligations and responsibilities in our lives. I realize that lately I’ve been taking care of everyone else’s needs but my own. I’ve usually been pretty good about taking time for myself, but this week has made it tough.

I get things done that I need to at work. I feed and play with the babies while they’re parents are working. I come home and feed our cat. And who is taking care of me? With Dave currently away working in Alaska, I’m on my own.

As working women, mothers, nannies, girlfriends, daughters, etc we women take on a lot on our plates, always. It’s important to remember to step back and take a minute for ourselves and make sure our needs are being met too. Women are amazing multi-taskers but it’s important that some of those tasks are our own and not everyone else’s all the time.

It is only in taking care of ourselves that we are able to take care of others. (Remember how during an airplane emergency you’re supposed to put on your own mask before assisting anyone else? Same concept here.)

So whatever you’re doing this weekend, I hope you take a minute (or heaven forbid, two!) minutes to yourself to recharge, put things in perspective, and enjoy a little.

6f82024e8462ea968a399346595894f1

the-new-you2I signed up for the Rock n Roll half marathon in Chicago for mid July as well as the Bank of America Chicago Marathon in October. So I need to start seriously training for both events. I’ve done both a half and a full marathon in the past, so I know I can do them, it’s just the starting part that’s hard.

runningWLMSo on Wednesday of this week I went to a run club with REI. I can be a motivated individual, depending on what it is. Running is something I enjoy, but not something I always want to do. It’s hard to get started on a training schedule sometimes, so I decided I should try to go to a run club to get motivated and hopefully meet some new friends along the way. This was my first time going and it’s something I’ll consider doing again.

How do you guys stay motivated to work out? I’d love to hear tips!

the-new-you3Being a Chicago girl, I am of course cheering on the Blackhawks to take home the Stanley Cup again this year! I found a Chicago bar in Huntington Beach called Gallagher’s, that I’ll definitely be going back to! I went there last Saturday with my brother and our friends, and it felt so nice to be surrounded by Chicago fans with their jerseys on and their kind, midwestern friendliness. 🙂

CHICAGO, IL - MAY 11:   Chicago Blackhawks celebrate after winning the Western Conference Semifinal Round of the 2009 Stanley Cup Playoffs against the Vancouver Canucks on May 11, 2009 at the United Center in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo by Bill Smith/NHLI via Getty Images)

The Hawks have won the Stanley Cup 2 times out of the last 4 years (in 2010 and 2013) so I think they got a pretty good shot this year against the Tamba Bay Lightning 😉 just saying. hi-res-7ed0e8a99277bf1168a81a3de0cb23e1_crop_north

0001-66688368I’m a long time reader of Shay‘s blog over at Mix and Match Family and she is always talking about how great the Clarisonic Mia is. So this week Clarisonic is having a special deal, offering 20% off on all devices with the code : Friends20 that ends on Sunday June 7th, so I took the plunge and bought it. I’m really excited to try it and see how well it works on my skin.

$RN7YR8J

And no I don’t work for them, am not sponsored through them, and was not asked to write about them. I am truly interested to test out this product on my own. I’d love to hear your opinions if you have one and if it works for you!

5 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: NYC, Me Time, Blackhawks

  1. Taking time for your self is so important and I’ve really been having a hard time doing so too. Always seems like there are more important things to get done but that airplane emergency thing is dead on! I love all of your New York pictures- such a great city! I love my Clarisonic- hope you love yours too! Happy weekend!

    1. You being a mama to sweet M warrants you time off to relax and do what you want and need to! You’re doing such important, meaningful work. I admire you and all the other mamas out there!!

      I love all of your pics of London and your adventures abroad!!

      Can’t wait to try the clarosonic glad to know you love yours!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!!

  2. Pingback: National’s Girlfriend Day August 1st | Say Yes to Happy

Leave a Reply

