Friday Favorites : Alaska, Books, & Vegas Museums

Happy Friday friends! I’m linking up with the ladies at A Little Bit of Everything BlogGrace and Love Blog, and Momfessionals as usual! 🙂 Head on over to all their sites if you wanna join in the link ups!

FridayFavorites3_zpsea6fc451

I’m also linking up with other blogging women at A.Liz AdventuresCarolina CharmHello! Happiness, and The Good Life Blog.p-txt

 And last but not least The Farmer’s Wife and September Farm.

valentineohheyfriday_zps0d5af582

 

the-new-you

last-alaskans-gallery-02

The Last Alaskans is a new show on Animal Planet that my boyfriend Dave worked on along with our good friends. Yes, I am biased, but I really think it’s a great show that you should check out! It is an 8 part series that started this past week. So this Sunday will be episode two at 7pm central time.

It’s about these families who live on the Arctic National Wildlife refuge, hundreds of miles away from towns and civilization. The show follows their life and what it’s like in the dead of winter and being isolated and how they survive. I know there are a lot of shows based in Alaska, but this one is filmed differently and they really are living off the grid.

33574_talent_004

I may not be writing a rave review or getting you interested but you can read the reviews here from the New York Times,  the Washington Post, The Hollywood Reporter, and the Wall Street Journal. They’re pretty trustworthy right? 🙂

the-new-you1

This week I shared my interview with Morinda who is a wife and mother of 4 kids. She has a beautiful way with words and is has such a sweet and nurturing soul. If you missed it this week, be sure to read both parts of her interview, Part 1 & Part 2.

10801671_10152496343975583_5551032058171989336_n

the-new-you2

 

Yesterday for Travel Thursdays on the blog, I talked about my time at the Neon Museum in Las Vegas. It is full of history and big, gorgeous marquee lights. It was my favorite museum I’ve been to in a while.

unnamed2

the-new-you3

I went to the library this week and got some books. I’m currently reading Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert (saw the movie years ago and loved it, and now I want to read the book) Adulting how to become a grown-up in 468 easy(ish) steps by Kelly Williams Brown, Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin, (read her other book the Happiness Project and loved it) and The Best Advice I Ever Got by Katie Couric. 

Nothing super new, but all new to me. I’d also love to hear your book suggestions if you have any!

220px-Eat,_Pray,_Love_–_Elizabeth_Gilbert,_2007

HappierAtHomePaperback-300x461110412_KatieCouric_bookcover.grid-3x2

Unknown

 

0001-66688368

I’ve been playing tennis this week after work and it makes me so happy. It’s definitely a passion of mine. I wish that I could have played professionally, I love it that much. I should be training for my upcoming half marathon in July, but tennis is so much more fun. 🙂
shutterstock_24424993
Hope you all have a great weekend! What fun plans do you have?
11 thoughts on “Friday Favorites : Alaska, Books, & Vegas Museums

  1. The Last Alaskans looks like a really good show, I’ll have to check it out! I’m also going to check out the Adulting book! Some of my favorite reads right now are books by Liane Moriarty and Melaine Shankle. I love all the ones I’ve read so far! Have a great weekend!

    1. I’ve heard so much about Liane Moriarty and Melanie Shankle. I’ll have to get to those books next!

      Hope you’ll check out Last Alaskans, it’s awesome!

      Thanks for commenting girly!

  2. That’s so cool that your boyfriend worked on that show! Looks really interesting! I’ve never read Gretchen Rubin’s books, but I’ve listened to her podcast & enjoyed it. Have a great weekend!! 🙂

    1. Thanks! Hope you’ll check it out.

      I love her podcast, it’s so fun! I think you’d enjoy her books too.

      Thanks so much for commenting and stopping by hope you had a great weekend!

  3. I loved The Happiness Project! I’ll have to check those books out 🙂 I’m reading “Start Something That Matters” by Blake Mycoskie, the founder of TOMS, right now! I want to find the Katie Couric book you mentioned too! That show sounds amazing and it’s so cool that you know them!

    1. I love companies that give back. I’ll have to check that one out next! Have you read the promise of a pencil by Adam Braun? It’s so good I’d recommend that one to you! It’s about the guy who started a non profit to help build schools all over the world.

      Thanks for stopping by Kylie!

  4. Pingback: My Year with Eleanor by Noelle Hancock | sayyestohappy

  5. Pingback: Chicago Rock n Roll Half Marathon July 2015 | Say Yes to Happy

  6. Pingback: Friday Favorites! | Say Yes to Happy

  7. Pingback: My Alaska Trip Part 1 | Say Yes to Happy

  8. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Bears, Elephants & New Link Up! | Say Yes to Happy

Leave a Reply

