What Do You Want to Do Before You Die? by the Buried Life

1326825094_buried-life-

This book, “What Do You Want to Do Before You Die?” is SO inspiring! I watched the show when it was on MTV and I LOVED IT! Those boys are so much fun, seem really sweet, and are all adorable.

This book tells the story of how they started as a group, where they were in their lives, and how they got their name.   They started out feeling lost and wanted something more. So together they came up with a list of things they wanted to accomplish. So they set out on the road in an RV, one thing lead to another, and people wanted to help them everywhere they went. They started a movement with their dreams.

I’ve cried more than once watching their show (which aired in 2010 and 2011 on MTV.) In addition to cross items off their list, they pay it forward and they help people they meet, to achieve one of their goals.

top

This book is a compilation from thousands of answers to the question, “What do you want to do before you die?” that the boys gave to their favorite artists to interpret the drawings. This book also has the fun stories behind how the boys crossed off certain items off of their lists along with pictures and the dates they occurred.

Like this one, which was #95 on their list, Play Ball With the President, and it took them 2 years to accomplish.

tumblr_lcmws9vlFR1qearaqo1_1280

“Death has an interesting way of simplifying life. Fears, worries, and pride seem to fall away. You get more courageous and more honest when you’re reminded that you’re going to die soon. It’s that clarity and honesty that helps you decide what you want to do with your life.”

There are a variety of serious and fun items in this book such as:

  • Before I die I want to meet the surgeons who repaired my heart when I was 4 and thank them…I now have a beautiful 11 year old girl because of them
  • I want to swim in jello
  • I want to apologize to three people I feel that I have hurt the most in life, say thank you to three people who helped me the most in life, and reconnect with three people I thought I would never see again
  • I want to take a year and grow everything I eat
  • I want to not be scared to let myself fall head over heels in love again

I just adore these boys and their spirit! They prove that you really can make your dreams come true. They show you to not be afraid and go after what you want. A trip that was originally was supposed to only be two weeks turned into 7 years for them. They are so admirable and I love the message they are sending to people of all ages. Life is short, grab opportunities while you can, and life your life to the fullest!!

image

 

You can follow them and their amazing journey on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

