My Happiness Project: January Goals Assessment

So the first month of the new year is over. Man, that went by fast! So let’s take a second here and assess how my goals went for the month. Here is a reminder of my goals I focused on this month:

  • No More Being Late, Be 10 Minutes Early
  • No Phones During Meal Time
  • Wake Up Early To Make the Days Longer and Be More Productive
  • Stick to a Budget, Manage and Organize Debt, Finances, Investments
  • Get a Composter
  • Limit Alcohol Intake to Once a Week

1) No More Being Late, Be 10 Minutes Early.

I definitely succeed on this goal for the month. I made sure to get ready way before I needed to, to allow time to get to my destinations. It feels so much better to be early and have time to relax versus rushing, and feeling bad for showing up late. I want to try to do this all the time, not just this past month.

 

2) No Phones During Meal Time.

In the beginning of the month I sometimes forgot that this was one of the goals, so it took a few times to remember before my boyfriend and I put away our phones. It’s just a habit to whip out your phones all the time, but it’s so important to enjoy the company you are with and not obsess over your phone. So if you haven’t already I definitely recommend doing this.

3) Wake Up Early To Make the Days Longer and Be More Productive.

This is a bit of an ongoing goal for me. I wouldn’t say that I rocked this goal for this month. I have such a nice comfy bed that it’s hard to get out of it sometimes. Once I am out of bed, I’m up, but it’s just a matter of actually waking up. I need to revisit this goal for sure.

4) Stick to a Budget, Manage and Organize Debt, Finances, Investments.

Now this goal I totally didn’t even get to for this month. This month flew by for me somehow and I didn’t sit down and organize my finances like I should have. Shame on me. This is still a goal of mine that will have to get reworked into My Happiness Project. 

5) Get a Composter

We did try to look into get a composter several times this month but when it came down to it, we weren’t sure if it was the best thing for us at this time in our lives. One of the benefits of having a composter is to use it in your soil to garden with. And I am living in an apartment right now that does not have room for a garden, so we figured the soil would go to waste. We wouldn’t know what to do with all the soil once it started overflowing. So this goal will have to be done when I have some real outdoor space and a house. But I would love to hear about anyone who has one and uses it!

6) Limit Alcohol Intake to Once a Week.

I personally don’t drink alcohol (never was interested in it and haven’t found anything I really liked other than the very occasional Mike’s Hard Lemonade) so this goal was for my boyfriend. He did so good with this goal the entire month, that is until his brother came into town to visit, then this goal was out the window. To be fair he did hold out until the 24th of the month, but he didn’t quite achieve this goal for the month; close but no dice.

On January 6th I added one more goal to this list: the 30 Day Plank Challenge.

47072408427635de13b4c6a8879e3a57 And as much as I wish  I had stuck to this plank challenge, I didn’t. I got to 2 and a half minutes which is just a little bit after the half way point and then got derailed once we had my boyfriend’s brother in town. We were so busy sightseeing all day that at the end of the day we were exhausted and often forgot about the challenge all together. I know it’s no excuse but that’s what happened. So I’ll have to start this one over. Did anyone who was doing this with me, finish it?!? I hope I can make it to 5 minutes, I just can’t quit this time!

So overall I followed through with some goals and didn’t quite make the cut with other goals. You win some, you lose some. But I’m actively trying to better myself in the new year and that’s what counts right? Goals are points of reference to see how you progress and life and it’s challenges are an constantly moving target. So tomorrow is a new month and a new day and another chance to get it right. So let’s start fresh and keep pushing forward with our goals!

One thought on “My Happiness Project: January Goals Assessment

Leave a Reply

