Happy Times by Lee Radziwill

51S338SSC6L._SY346_

I am a very curious person and love reading biographies and hearing about people’s lives. The Kennedy family is so famous and there were so many people in their world. I have often wondered how the people in their lives who were close to them viewed their world, and how they lived along side them.

In this book, Happy Times by Lee Radziwill, Jackie’s only sister (not including her half siblings) shares personal photos and memories and it’s really cool to see and hear firsthand accounts of Jackie, the kids, and Jack. She shares pictures of her many houses, her vacations, and her feelings about having Jackie as her sister. I only wish this book was a little longer, but it’s fantastic. Lee is gorgeous in her own right not just compared to the great Jackie.

I love the intro where Lee writes, ” Over a number of years, friends have urged me to write an autobiography. I had the opportunity, but after some thought I decided it would involved me in too many other lives. I wanted to do something much lighter, which would touch only on the good times. I also felt that so much had already been said about my family and the people I was close to, that it would be more enjoyable to only remember the best times with them.  Happy times were a better choice for me. I am always aware that I’ve had a special and privileged life, yet it has been balanced by tragedy as it has been for so many others. I believe that without memories there is no life, and that our memories should be of happy times. That’s my choice. ”

199706564696369300mpJ6ux6oc

 

Happy-times-book-lee-zhush

 

182-480x718

One thought on “Happy Times by Lee Radziwill

  1. Pingback: November 22, 1963 | sayyestohappy

Leave a Reply

